New York State
Association of Fire Chiefs

Providing Service to Those Who Serve


NYSAFC Announces 2018 Scholarship Award Recipients

Two awards were presented for the upcoming academic year.

The New York State Association of Fire Chiefs is pleased to offer an annual Scholarship Program to enhance, through academic achievement at the college level, the quality of leadership in the fire and life safety field and to assist Active, Associate, and Affiliate association Individual Members (and their spouses or children) in their efforts to pursue academic advancement.

Scholarships are awarded in memory of NYSAFC Past President Anthony J. "Andy" Messina and NYSAFC Executive Director Emeritus Ward A. Bohner and his wife Janice R. Bohner for their many years of faithful and dedicated service to the association. The Anthony J. "Andy" Messina Scholarship is awarded to students pursuing an emergency services degree (e.g., fire science, EMS, or emergency management). The Ward A. & Janice R. Bohner Scholarship is awarded to those pursuing a general course of study in any other field.

Congratulations to the 2018 NYSAFC Scholarship recipients, who were acknowledged during the General Session of the 112th Annual Conference & FIRE 2018 Expo in Verona, NY:
  • Patrick Dahulich (Binghamton, NY)
  • Matthew J. Wilson (Yorktown Heights, NY)

Special thanks to the Erie County Fire Chiefs Mutual Aid Organization, Fire Chiefs Council of Nassau County, and Fire Chiefs' Council of Suffolk County for their contributions to the NYSAFC scholarship fund.

The 2019 NYSAFC Scholarship Program Application is now available. Applications must be postmarked by February 28, 2019. Download the application and eligibility details here.