New York State
Association of Fire Chiefs

Providing Service to Those Who Serve

President R. Scott Ewing

Chief R. Scott Ewing served as chief of the District 3 Fire Department from 2015-2020. He is now serving as deputy fire chief. Ewing has been a member of the department since 1985 and previously held the positions of department secretary, vice president, president, and assistant chief during his 38 years of service. He has served as a deputy fire coordinator for Clinton County since 1994 and is assigned to the Fire Investigation Unit as a fire investigator. Ewing is a certified hazardous materials technician and serves on the Clinton County Haz-Mat Team. In 2002, he was appointed to the Clinton County Training Tower Committee and assisted in the development, plans, funding, and construction of the new facility, which is utilized by departments throughout Clinton County and Canada. Ewing also was appointed to the Clinton County Fire Advisory Board in 2016 and is still serving as an active member. He is a member and past president of the Clinton County Firefighters Association, where he served as fire prevention chairman for several years. Ewing also is a certified emergency medical technician and has been a member of the Morrisonville-Schuyler Falls Ambulance Service since 1995. He served as the EMS chief for five years and was president of the board of directors for 12 years. Ewing is also a New York state fire instructor. He joined NYSAFC in 1986 and is a life member. Prior to being elected to the board of directors in 2014, Ewing was appointed to the Public Education Committee in 1996 and was named chairman in 2002.