New York State
Association of Fire Chiefs

Providing Service to Those Who Serve


2023-2024 NYSAFC Officers Installed

Chief R. Scott Ewing of Plattsburgh District #3 Fire Department took office as president of NYSAFC on June 17, 2023, during the association's 117th Annual Conference & FIRE 2023 Expo in Syracuse, NY.

Chief R. Scott Ewing of Plattsburgh District #3 Fire Department in Clinton County was installed as president of the New York State Association of Fire Chiefs during the NYSAFC 117th Annual Conference & FIRE 2023 Expo Installation Ceremony, which was held on June 17, 2023, at the Marriott Syracuse Downtown in Syracuse, NY. He will serve a one-year term leading the statewide not-for-profit organization that represents more than 10,000 career and volunteer fire and emergency medical services personnel of all ranks from across New York state.

President Ewing served as chief of the District #3 Fire Department from 2015-2020. He is now serving as deputy fire chief. Ewing has been a member of the department since 1985 and previously held the positions of department secretary, vice president, president, and assistant chief during his 38 years of service. He has served as a deputy fire coordinator for Clinton County since 1994 and is assigned to the Fire Investigation Unit as a fire investigator. Ewing is a certified hazardous materials technician and serves on the Clinton County Haz-Mat Team. In 2002, he was appointed to the Clinton County Training Tower Committee and assisted in the development, plans, funding, and construction of the new facility, which is utilized by departments throughout Clinton County and Canada. Ewing also was appointed to the Clinton County Fire Advisory Board in 2016 and is still serving as an active member. He is a member and past president of the Clinton County Firefighters Association, where he served as fire prevention chairman for several years. Ewing also is a certified emergency medical technician and has been a member of the Morrisonville-Schuyler Falls Ambulance Service since 1995. He served as the EMS chief for five years and was president of the board of directors for 12 years. Ewing is also a New York state fire instructor. He joined NYSAFC in 1986 and is a life member. Prior to being elected to the board of directors in 2014, Ewing was appointed to the Public Education Committee in 1996 and was named chairman in 2002.

Also, during the ceremony, Chief Anthony V. LaFerrera (North Babylon Volunteer Fire Company) was sworn in as 1st vice president and Chief Richard L. Lyman (White Plains Fire Department) was sworn in as 2nd vice president. Both will serve one-year terms.

Chief George P. June (Catskill Ambulance Service) was sworn in as EMS director. Chief Anthony J. Tripp (Glen Cove Volunteer Fire Department) and Chief Michael J. Volpe (Busti Fire Department) were sworn in as volunteer directors. All will serve three-year terms.

Director Tripp, who joined the board of directors this year, is an active 45-year member of the Glen Cove Volunteer Fire Department. Tripp rose through the ranks of the Chemical Engine Co. # 1, serving as secretary/treasurer, 2nd lieutenant, 1st lieutenant, and then captain in 1987. He was department recording secretary for six years before being elected 3rd assistant chief in 2004. Tripp served as chief of department from 2010-2012. He is a past president of the Fire Chiefs Council of Nassau County and presently holds the position of financial secretary for the organization, as well as for the Nassau County Firemen's Association and the North Shore Fire Council. Tripp currently sits on the New York State Interoperable and Emergency Communications Board. He has been a member of NYSAFC since 2007, and served as sergeant-at-arms from 2013-2015 and later as a member and vice chairman of the Conference Committee.

Congratulations to the 2023-2024 officers of the New York State Association of Fire Chiefs.